Who’s The Voice Behind This Pooch?

17 Feb

Picture of Mae West-like dog from SHE DONE HIM RIGHT

by Rachel Newstead

As some of you may have noticed in the second part of my recent essay about Tex Avery’s early years at Lantz, I love the cartoon She Done Him Right, especially the signature number of the cartoon, “Minnie The Moocher’s Wedding Day.” I first fell in love with that number in Hugh Harman’s Swing Wedding, but the hot blues rendition in She Done Him Right is far superior. I had to know the identity of that voice, and in an effort to find out, I wrote to the webmaster of the Walter Lantz Cartune Encyclopedia.  Well, it seems I not only have him stumped, but the people to whom he forwarded my letter: neither Jerry Beck, Mark Kausler, nor even Keith Scott had any idea.

Since I seem to have done the near-impossible and stumped the animation historians, I thought it best to appeal to the music historians. Lantz likely used a popular artist of the day, as Fleischer was inclined to do. My knowledge of the artists of that period is sadly limited, however, so I would appreciate hearing from anyone who can give me at least an educated guess.

To whom does this voice belong?

2 Responses to “Who’s The Voice Behind This Pooch?”

  1. scylla July 4, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    blanche calloway?

    • Rachel July 4, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

      A better guess than what I came up with (namely, nothing)….

Leave a Reply

