A Day Late, But…

19 Jan

….I hope, not a dollar short.

The plain fact of the matter is, some reviews require more background and research than others, and I was a bit taken aback at how much I didn’t know about the cartoon I’m going to review, and the men behind it.  It’s fascinating, and any blog post on the subject deserves meticulous care.

I do intend, however, to keep true to my pledge to myself–namely, to put some sort of content up every day, to at least let our readers know we’re still out there. With that in mind, I take you back to last week’s Freeze Frame Friday image. First, the frame is taken from the Beetle Bailey cartoon “The Jinx” from 1964, a cartoon which, as you’ll see later, managed to turn up at several of the more pleasant times of my life. Not bad for something produced, I’m sorry to say, on the cheap, leading to errors such as the one below:

Beetle Bailey and his "clone" from "The Jinx" (1964)

Either the artists goofed, or the military's been doing secret cloning experiments...

The cartoon is part of the “Comic Kings” series, produced by Al Brodax of King Features Syndicate in association with Paramount/Famous. (Yes, the same person who gave us the infamous made-for-TV Popeyes in the early 60s–which, I have to say, aren’t quite as bad as they’re made out to be).

50 “Beetles” were made in all over a period of two years–a downright relaxed pace compared to the Popeyes, but still hectic enough to cause errors like the “Beetle clone” seen above.  An error I’m willing to overlook in the case of this cartoon, overall one of the better ones in the series. I’ll get a review of the cartoon up as soon as I can–bear with me. Your patience will be amply rewarded.–Rachel

One Response to “A Day Late, But…”

  1. Pait May 7, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    And I thought I was the sensible one. Thanks for setting me stairght.

Leave a Reply

